City Council President Bernard ‘Jack’ Young’s Swearing-In Ceremony Remarks

Baltimore’s famed surgeon Dr. Benjamin Carson was asked, “What part does gratitude play in your life?” He thought for a moment and said, “Everyday and every hour, instead of complaining about things, or saying poor me, I look at all of the blessings God has given me and I simply say to the Lord, I am grateful!”

Madame Mayor, council colleagues, fellow elected officials, family, friends and citizens…today, I am truly grateful!

Some people in our city may not know me very well. I am a father, a husband, a man of faith and a son of Baltimore. Wherever I go throughout East Baltimore, in the district that I have represented  for more than 12 years,it is not unusual for someone to yell out my name, “Jack”!

There have been few honors in my life, but none greater than serving the people of this great city. I want my colleagues on the city council to know that your trust in me is not taken for granted. Today you have humbled me by choosing me as your leader!

Even though I will be moving to a different office, I remain your colleague. I remain your friend. I am still the same person you have worked with all these years. The door to the President’s office will always be open to you and to the citizens of this city.

The people of Baltimore have sent us here to this historic place to be about THEIR business. The business of addressing a huge deficit. The business of creating jobs and keeping corporations, large and small, growing and thriving. The business of keeping our taxes low and our delivery of services high.

The business of supporting a world-class public education system that inspires our children to graduate and has the trust of their parents. The business of continuing to drive down crime and violence by keeping our citizens safe and secure.

On that note, Madame Mayor, I want you to know that I pledge to go anywhere, anytime you need me to support your efforts to get illegal guns off the streets of Baltimore. This council stands ready to do whatever is required to take guns out of the hands of criminals who threaten the progress we are making.

Today marks a new chapter in the life of Baltimore!

I will not shy away from the awesome responsibility you have placed on me. I will never forget that I work for YOU, the citizens. I know Baltimore well, and love it even more. This is a great city.

Today, I ask for your prayers,your patience and your continued perseverance. Baltimore remains a city built on dreams, but dreams powered by hard work, guided by common sense and inspired by creativity.  A City where all citizens feel the warmth of community, the presence of safety and the pleasure of dignity.

I look forward to us rolling up our sleeves and getting work done that is in the best interest of our city and our citizens.

Thank you.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment