Governor O’Malley blocks ‘conservative’ press from State of the State

As tomorrow’s State of the State address shall be the final push for an O’Malley agenda leading into the 2010 Gubernatorial election cycle, his office has masterfully played the game of ‘keep away’ from those of us critical of his policies.

While certain members of the Press, including myself, have been stalled and consistently delayed our press credentials, due to some new process the O’Malley administration has put in place, many are questioning why now? As if not already known as the liberal oppressor of all things conservative, Governor O’Malley is now playing games with certain reporter’s credentials, who are too closely tied to conservative publications.

As in my case, reporting for the Examiner.com, owned by Clarity Media Group, made famous by its former owner William Randolph Hearst, it has been seen as a more conservative based media venue, at least to the likes of the Baltimore Sun. However as before this legislative session, you would just apply at the Press office in the Department of General Services, get a letter from your Editor and get your picture taken and you were done, now you have many hoops to jump through.

The process now has been circumvented through the Governor’s communication office and its Director Rick Abbruzzese. As the first day of session came around, Wednesday January 13, I went to apply for my credentials. I was then told by the DGS office of Sam Cook that I must have my editor fax over my credentials. Once this was complete that week, I was then told to have my editor e-mail the credentials over to Mr. Cook, as he then had to forward them over to the Governor’s office for approval. All this was complete by Wednesday January 20, yet as I continuously get told by Mr. Cook day after day that my credentials have yet to be approved, as I watch others of more liberal-leaning media outlets walk right in and get approved within days.

Now when former Governor Ehrlich stood against speaking directly to two Sun reporters’ due to personal reasons regarding their reporting, then Mayor O’Malley and the Democrats went crazy. He did not block coverage by the Sun, just chose not to address these particular reporters’, yet now in control oh how the tables have turned. However they [O’Malley administration] are not totally denying the press credentials based off the fact I’m sure they know that would open them up to a lawsuit.

So as I wait on approval by the Executive branch of government, not able to perform my reporting duties of the legislative branch, it seems to me to be a conflict of interests or at the very least, a breach of my first amendment rights under the United States Constitution. As the owner of a media company (GCOMM Media Co.) having my own television and radio programs, not to mention being a political reporter for the Examiner, should I not be granted a media pass?

In Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938), Chief Justice Hughes defined the press as, “every sort of publication which affords a vehicle of information and opinion.”

Freedom of the press (or press freedom) is the guarantee by a government of free public press for its citizens and their associations, extended to members of news gathering organizations, and their published reporting. It also extends to news gathering and processes involved in obtaining information for public distribution. -New World Encyclopedia

For more information on this article and more email me here, follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook

The Press Obstructionist?

.

Leave a comment